top of page

Making a Self-Care box

Hullo again,

I sometimes suffer with self-confidence issues. I have anxiety about what people think about me, and I constantly seek out approval from people who are important to me. I had counselling for this last year, when I was under great stress at home and especially work. My boss at the time was manipulative, I never knew where I stood, or what she wanted from me with regards to my work. Whatever she wanted on that particular day (It changed like the weather) would always be something different to what I was doing. This of course spilled over into my personal life. I struggled to believe people when they did want to be around me, thinking that because I didn't really like myself at that point, then no one else would either. It took support from the most important people in my life, and I lost a few people who turned it around so it was about them, for me to finally start being in a place of acceptance and love for myself.

afdc3fbfc70c6f6e75dbb4176812d7b5.jpg

That's the weird thing about my personality. I am not judgemental, I know everyone has their own ways of doing things. I support my loved ones in everything that they want to do, but I struggle with doing the same for myself. I'm finally beginning to realise that I need to love myself as much as I love everyone else in my life, if not more so.

Having said that, I still struggle with low self esteem days. I have been seeing loads of information online, in various places, about setting up a self-care box for when you are feeling a little bit "meh". I decided to put one together for myself, so for my off days I can be reminded to take some time out for myself.

I have in mine...

1) Some photographs of people and the kitty that I love

2) A bathbomb from the set the boy got me for Christmas

3)Some Sanctuary Spa foot lotion and body butter

4) Hot chocolate

5) Peanut butter cups and Dr Pepper

6) Notepad, pen and some post-it notes

7) A Calligraphy set

tumblr_n6plghVn601rkm4r8o1_500.jpg

I'm planning on putting some lovely cosy socks and something to read in at some point too.

I'll stash this box away somewhere safe, so when I'm feeling unsure and down I can pamper and treat myself until I feel better. I think everyone should have a self care box. You never know when you might need it <3

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page