top of page

A Day in the Life of Kitty


This is pretty much how my day went today.

9am: Wake up and scroll through Pinterest. Drop off back to sleep after having 6 hours sleep due to deciding to put small plaits all over my head in a bid to get wild mane hair.

9.15am: Drag myself out of bed as the cat is essentially shoving me off the pillow and nibbling on my forehead in a bid to wake me up.

9.20am: Feed said catkins and jump in the shower. Attempting to keep my hair as dry as possible.

9.30am: Go downstairs, put the kettle on and look at the clock. Put teabag in my cup, and look at the clock again. Realise as my heart sinks that I have to be at work at 10 and that I've set my alarm an hour later than I should have. Bollocks.

9.32am: Run upstairs with the cat following me about, and quickly get dressed. Normally I like to take my time but there is no time for dallying this morning. Realise I would've been better off putting some hot water in my cup so that I could at least have a chance at having a cuppa this morning.

9.34am: Let the cat out, even though it's raining. Quickly slop some water into my cup whilst attempting to take those stupid plaits out of my hair. Very nearly give myself third degree burns with the hot water.

9.35am: Check my purse for money and then call a cab. Finish making my brew and sit down and have a cigarette. Burn my mouth on my tea in a rush to drink as much as possible as quickly as possible.

9.42am: Cab is still not here, call the company as I have managed to drink the majority of my tea.

9.42am: Grab coat and wait outside as cab man said it would be a few seconds, and that it is blue.

9.43am: Cab pulls up, it is silver not blue. Jump in and resist the urge to tell him to step on it.

9.44am: Driver insists on have a conversation about the weather. Try not to show that I am stressing as we keep hitting red lights.

9.52am: Run across works car park. Note that they are finally getting the drainage sorted out in the car park so there isn't a lake like usual.

9.53am: Cram my stuff into my locker, wish I had brought a different coat as my locker is far too small for it.

9.55am: Attempt to log in to my work computer. It will not switch on. My phone will also not let me log in either. Realise now that it is too late that I have not been to the toilet.

10.02am: Tell one of the managers that I am here, just that my computer is being rubbish. Furiously click buttons in an attempt to log in.

10.05am: Finally manage to get online. Start taking calls and work even though I constantly want to scream into a pillow at some people's stupidity.

10.10am: Realise my schedule has been updated to be that I am 15 minutes late. Sigh. Rant a bit about how I have actually taken a call so how does that even work?

10.10am-6.10pm: Pretty uneventful day at work, except for a lady telling me off for answering her question and continuing to speak while she has a conversation with someone else. Apparently it's ok for her to have a random conversation about how useless I am while I'm trying to help her, but it is not ok for me to continue speaking like a real person.

6.11pm: Take a call and then get told by my manager that I should've just stayed for the amount of time I was late. She said she would try to claim this back for me though.

6.15pm: Grab my stuff and practically sprint out of the building. I feel like I want to cry as I realise it is absolutely tipping it down and I have worn shoes that do not cover my feet properly.

6.29pm: Cross the road just as the bus is pulling away from the stop. Mess about on facebook and light a cigarette. Attempt to call the boy.

6.30pm: Get on a bus that is late. Miss call from the boy.

6.31pm: Call back the boy, realise there are things I need to pick up from town but that I have forgotten my bank card.

6.43pm: Get chatted to by a weird lady at my second bus stop. She asked if my feet are wet, and I smile blandly in the hope that she leaves me alone. She doesn't.

6.50pm: Lady gets distracted by some dude that has essentially ripped his achilles tendon from his heel playing football. He has a giant plastic boot on. She tries to include me, but I do not bite.

6.53pm: Bus pulls away and then I realise that the roof where I am sitting is leaking all over me. Move over one seat. Get rain water all over me again. Move forward one.

7.00pm: Finally get home. Tell boy I am grumpy and have a cigarette.

7.05pm: Go upstairs to put some clean clothes away. Chibs follows me up and wanders about wondering what's wrong with me. Open a drawer and she clambers inside and looks at me purring. My bad mood is disappating. She gives me some lovely kitty cuddles.

7.30pm: Make some vegan stir fry using these dried soya chunks that I managed to get hold of. Laugh at the boy playing GTAV with his new online buddies.

7.50pm: Pay for some Mollie Makes magazines that I won on Ebay, also buy some beautiful jade green ear plugs also.

8.00pm: Find some faceted opal ear plugs on Ebay. Wish I had saw these ones first now.Add them to my massive list of watched items.

8.15pm: Start writing this blog post.

10.00pm: Go to bed. Sleep all cuddled up with the boyf <3

note: I got to work too see an email about a pay rise. My day seems so much better now. :D

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page