top of page

5 Important Things I'm Learning About Life


As I am nearing 30 (!) I'm trying to learn things to help me through life. And hopefully one day I will be able to pass on my wisdom to my children, or failing that the cat. Not that she listens or understands of course. I thought I would compile a list of things that I am still in the process of learning, but that I feel I really important.

This is a big one to start. You only get one life. And it is short. You may as well enjoy the one you have because being unhappy will not change anything. Pull up your socks, get out there and do things that you love. If you love walking, do it. Love going to the cinema? Do it. Bungee jumping? yep, you guessed it. Just do it. As long as it isn't illegal and you aren't hurting anyone, go for it. Life is far too precious and short to not do things because you are scared of what people think of you because they don't matter to your happiness. I worry about what people think of me, so although I do things that I love; I get worried about what people who are important think. All of my close friends and family appreciate that I am who I am so I am slowly learning that I can't see into people's heads and that it shouldn't matter what they think anyway.

This can be for everything. Drinking, good food, spending money on pretty things. Everything in moderation is key. Not only will you be healthier, and have a better relationship with your bank manager in the long run but when you do those things, they will be more of a treat. I think it is all to easy to take things for granted in this day and age. When we see perfect people with everything we naturally want that for ourselves too. But unless you win the lottery and have a really high metabolism this is not good for us. Take stock and apreciate what you have rather than what you don't. And enjoy treats in moderation.

Working indoors all day can make you really depressed. It's all too easy to attempt to hibernate, especially at the moment when everyday seems to be glum and rainy. Getting outside, even if only for a little while, is good for you. Not only can 20 minutes of sunlight provide your vitamin D for the day but being outside can be good for self confidence levels and even just doing some interesting things with your time instead of slobbing out all day every day. I must admit, when the weather is rubbish I do tend to stay inside all day. It's always so warm and cosy inside, and I get cold really easily. Since I have been gardening, I have been pottering about in my garden more, so I have been getting my fresh air that way. But now that summer is around the corner, I am planning lots of lovely things to do outside. I desperately want to have a picnic, I can picture the cosy blanket, the wicker basket and all of the lovely treats inside. I also need to take my camera out with me too. I am quite lucky living here, as there are quite a lot of nice places to go to nearby.

To keep your brain active I think it is really important to learn new things all the time. I have taught myself to do many of the creative things that I am able to do, and I enjoy doing any little DIY jobs around the house too. I figure, why pay people to do things I am able to figure out how to do on my own. Anything that interests you learn about it. The internet is a wonderful thing, and as brilliant as it is that I can view funny cat pictures at any time of the day (or night!!) it can be used for so much more. And don't forget reading too. A book is a wonderful thing. Don't waste your spare time and learn something new. Finally, people can teach you a lot too. Whether it's a new recipe, or a different way of thinking, always be open to what others can teach you. You never know what you might learn!

I think the biggest part of being happy is an ability to laugh at yourself. When embarrassing things happen to you, the best thing to do is laugh. Everyone makes a fool out of themselves sometimes and the best thing to do rather than get upset or angry about it is to have a chuckle, brush yourself down and keep on going. You could get upset about tripping over something non-existant, for example, but what would be the point in that? You're already on the ground so you may as well get some sort of amusement about it. No one is perfect and trying to be is a waste of time in my opinion. Obviously, try to be the best that you can be, but also realise that striving after perfection is a waste of time. Spend your time with people who make you laugh too. I am sometimes a little negative, and I am aware that is something I need to work on, and I don't have room for negative people in my life. Everyone goes through ups and downs, and obviously no one could be permanently in a good mood 24/7, but to constantly have some sort of drama going on. It honestly wears me out, so who knows what it feels like for those people who live that all of the time. My advice, sweat the big stuff, not the small. And surround yourself with people who can make you laigh until you cry, when all you really feel like doing is crying.

So there it is. Those are the five main things that I am learning about how to live a happy life. Anything you feel I've missed? Let me know by dropping me a message :)

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page