top of page

Inspiration: Succulents

I have been growing succulents for a couple of years now. I managed to pick up this lovely Haworthia at the local car boot sale and I have never looked back. It recently flowered too, and grew a giant stem out of the middle complete with tiny white trumpet flowers.

I've put this one in a little chintzy teacup that I got from the same market and it has flourished. It's even started growing little offshoots, and I've managed to find homes for my little plant babies.

After growing this one, I also branched out into a few more. I've put them all on my kitchen windowsill and as they don't need much sunlight they grow really well there.

I'm not sure what the name of this little baby is. I brought it from good old wilkinsons, and it even came with the little zinc bucket that you can just about see. It's a little bit like a stick with bobbles on it, and if any of them fall off naturally, they repropagate themselves into more. I haven't tried to grow these in separate pot as of yet, but I am planning too, once the plant is a little bit stronger. After reading all over the internet how hard it is to kill a succulent, I would not be happy if I managed to do just that.

Last but not least it's my money tree. They are also known as jade plants, friendship tree and lucky plant. They are super easy to grow, and can even flower if they are kept well. Again, any leaves that fall off will often propagate into new plants. Which is amazing. I think they would be an excellent housewarming gift as they bring luck into the home with all very important things.

Mine is currently kept in a white with blue polka dotted ceramic watering can that my mum got for me. It needs splitting up though as it already has three branches and is looking a tad overcrowded.

I have recently ordered some succulent seeds from China also. I have never tried to grow succulents from seeds before, so I am a little worried about the whole scenario. As usual though, the internet would come to the rescue.

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page