top of page

My Week

Time for a weekly update.

To be honest I haven't done much this week. I have been struck down with the lurgy that has swept through everyone like the plague here in Derby. It felt like I had swallowed sandpaper so you can imagine how fun that was at work yesterday. I had felt a bit poorly on Thursday, that feeling of tiredness and sinus pain that usually comes before the generally death-like feeling. I was off on Friday, so I had a lovely chilled day with the boyf. He really looked after me, made sure I was comfortable and warm on the sofa all day.

Saturday I felt better. Like the whole rubbishy feeling from the past few days was a false alarm. We went to what my mother would call an "evening do" for a wedding. We actually hung out with boyfs old housemates, and it was good to see them again and catch up. I hadn't seen them since New Years Eve, and before that it was a year and a half before that. The grooms band played at the wedding, and it was amazing. I really enjoyed it. Even if some oafs trod all over the brides train (it made me wince) She looked beautiful, and very sparkly.

We are planning to have a game night soon, the cat didn't hiss at them like she did last time. I think she did that because they have a dog. And in that sense she has been sheltered from pooches. She was also a bit distracted by the bubbles.

Monday morning I was struck down. I always feel like the last cold I had was the worst ever, and this was no exception. My eyes blearily opened, my nose was stuffy, I started coughing my guts up; and I knew; it had begun. Luckily I was not at work until half ten, so it gave me a chance to have a steamy shower to unclog my sinuses, and to dose up whilst ignoring the pounding head and raspy throat.

After I got home, from the longest day in history, I fell asleep on the sofa at around 7. The cat gave me some cuddles at the time, and when I woke up at about 9 (the boyf was calling before getting his train) she was sitting on the floor looking at me. I like to think she was concerned, but I fear she was waiting for me to feed her as she kept nipping my feet and licking (!) my ankles and toes.

Today I went out on a work-related adventure. I went out in the field and read some meters. I got some protective footwear, which for the record were very round and clumpy looking, and some super sexy high-vis to wear. I was also wearing two pairs of socks and my lovely russian hat, and obviously my coat. I was going to take a picture, but I got shy and you know I looked and felt like death.

It was interesting actually, I don't care how boring that sounds. A lovely old lady insisited I came inside because I looked cold, and I had to jump over a fence and into a field with a pony in it. The main thing is, I didn't fall over or hurt myself all day.

And now I am shattered. I think I need to sleep off this cold. Forever. Lets hope I feel better soon because I always feel sorry for myself and revert back into child mode and want my mummy to look after me.

laters <3

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page