top of page

Inspiration: Hallways

I am currently attempting to decide how to redecorate my house. I'm finding it very difficult to decide on colour schemes and what furniture I would like to have. I still haven't won the lottery so it will be a slow process. I don't want it to be a massive mismash but at the same time, I don't want it to be looking perfectly put together like something out of a show home. I want personality in there too.

The first room I am starting off with is my hallway. At the moment, it is a blank canvas of nothing, and I want it to be welcoming and basically set the tone for the rest of the house. I want some small items of furniture in there, so we have somewhere to put mail, and store our bags and shoes. Here are my favourite pieces of inspiration that I have found recently.

diy vintage lifestyle blog inspiration hallway mirror coral table globe camera

This hallway bureau table is amazing. It's lovely and slim, and the paint job gives it some originality about it. I like the extra shelf underneath too, being as there isn't a lot of room in my hallway that double shelf is really helpful, as it means that we would be able to store other items underneath. As I was saying to the boy earlier on today, I want more storage, and we are planning to have some corner shelves for trinkets, but I also like having something cute and interesting to look at in other areas too. This is actually an ikea table that has been hacked. I found it over at thesweetbeast, and the direct link is here

I love all the trinkets that have been displayed on here too. Those vintage cover books, that lovely alarm clock and the camera are my favourites. That said, I would happily transfer the whole thing into my hallway if I could.

diy vintage lifestyle blog inspiration hallways mint green wooden floor frames shabby chic

Mint green is one of my favourite colours. I really do have to stop myself from buying things that are this colour, and I have around 7 large balls of wool in this colour. It is a real problem I have.

That said I really love this mint green and white hallway. Because ours is small I am currently around 95% certain that this is the colour we will settle on.

I also love the mismatched frames on the gallery wall. I love hanging random pictures everywhere, and it is my plan to do this is my hallway too.

We currently have some lace bunting hanging up over our mirror (which needs some sort of frame) and another bunting in green and gold that I had over Christmas in my Lucky Dip. I think this colour is the way forward as it is so light and airy, that it instantly makes the room feel huge! Plus it isn't a super strong colour, so I would still be able to add different items that are more brightly coloured to add interest.

diy vintage lifestyle blog hallway inspiration polka dots spots gold confetti decal

To break up the walls a little bit I found these delicious stick-on polka dots. As you can probably tell I do love a bit of spotty pattern in my life. These are ideal as opposed to painting the spots on as these stickers would peel off when we wanted a change or if we moved out. The best part is that they are affordable. You can find them here they come in so many different colours, so that does pose an issue. I am leaning towards the gold or the bronze colour as I think these would have the most impact. I do need to decide if I would have them uniformly spaced, or if I would have a higher concentration at the top of the wall, a little bit like confetti. I like the latter, because I think it would mean that they are less likely to get scuffed if there are less towards the bottom of the wall.

diy vintage lifestyle blog hallway inspiration floral petal lampshade

I found this adorable lampshade on pinterest, but when I followed the link it took me to a blog that did not have the picture on there. I'm not sure if this is a DIY, but I don't think it would be too difficult to make. The petal frame is obviously made from wire and the fabric is then glued or sewn over it to form the body of the petal. I think the hardest part of making this would be how to affix it to the light fitting. I am going to have a think about this one, because it is so beautiful, and if I remember at the time (I tend to get excited when making) then I will put together a tutorial. Anyway, I got sidetracked a little there. This petal lampshade is so pretty it makes my heart ache just looking at it. I love the way the semi-transparant fabric diffuses and softens the light so that it isn't as harsh. The petals look so delicate and soft too. I am definitely going to give making one a go, if I can figure out how to do it of course. <3

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page