top of page

Inspiration: Bedding.

Confession Time. I have an obsession with bedding. I love the feel of new sheets when they are fresh on the bed, and I am finding bed sheets with different prints and colours so that I have a linen closet where they all match. Not exactly matching, but they all look pretty together. That is my dream. So without further ado, my new favourite bed sheets.

diy vintage lifestyle blog bedding polka dots spots monochrome

This monochrome and pale pink bedroom is so cute! I love the shade of pink that has been used and the black and white stop it from being to sickly sweet. I think this would work with any pastel as a block colour, as the monochrome would always tone it down. The edging on the cushion at the back is so simple and yet so so effective. I love everything about this bedroom. The geometric painting, that hanging planter and the bed looks so comfortable too.

Plus you can't go wrong with a little bit of polka dot.

diy vintage lifestyle blog floral bedding stripes cottage shabby chic

This set is so so beautiful that it brings a tear to my eye. The flowers, the pink candy stripe, and the floral bedskirt are so wonderful. I hope that the duvet cover is dual sided, I think a lovely bold floral pattern backed with the pink stripes would make my heart sing everytime I pulled back the covers and clambered in between the sheets. I really wish that the pillow cases were also in this picture, just so I could see what they had been paired with. I think a lovely pale green, perhaps the same fabric as the bed skirt would pull the look together nicely. I am coveting this picture. I really wish I could transplant this picture right into my own bedroom.

diy vintage lifestyle blog edging floral chintz shabby chic lace crochet pillowcases bedding

These lace edged pillow cases are just darling. I love the mismatched ditsy floral print, and the trimmed edges make them into something special too.

I have seen quite a few tutorials on how to crochet edges on to different fabrics, and this would also work well in this scenario.

I am now currently on the look-out for vintage sheets and fabric that I could refashion into new pillow cases. I also have my parents (who are keen car-boot dwellers) looking out for me too.

I don't even think that you would be constrained to using floral print here either. A lovely pastel plain cover, with a brighter hued edge, gingham with broderie anglaise trim, any combination would be fantastic.

diy vintage lifestyle blog quilting floral mismatching polka dots spots floral chintz stripes gingham bedding

This particular cover speaks to me as a DIY project. It is really hard, and expensive, to find fabric that is wide enough to make a double duvet cover. Sure, you could make the cover in two halves, but if you have a bold print, or stripes for example you would use extra fabric, and time, trying to piece them together in the centre so that they match. Well I would anyway. That join line in the middle would really irritate me.

This cover works around all of that. You could even use this as a stash busting project. Thin strips of patterned and plain fabric are pieced together to create a happy mix of patterns. This cover would be easy to match to your own decor, and again would live up to my dream of matching anything else I decided to throw on to the bed.

I also love the brass bedstead. It reminds me of the Victorian Era.

diy vintage lifestyle blog cottage bedding shabby chic polka dots spots striped gingham lace crochet

Last, but by no means least, this bed has it all! Plain, floral, gingham and stripes. And yet, because all of the colours are ice-cream cool, the effect is still serene and peaceful. I especially love the thought that has gone into this. Each pattern of pillowcase has a different edge.

The gingham is an oxford pillow case, the floral a standard houswife and the white one peeping up at the back is edged with what looks like mini pom pom trim.

This bed also has a metal frame, but this time it has been painted white. The flakes that have come off add to the shabby chic feel that this room has.

I also love the polka dot curtain that has been tied back with some hot pink string. What a lovely touch.

So those are my favourite bedding inspirations. I have lots to source and make if I am to achieve my dream <3

No tags yet.
  • Instagram B&W
  • Pinterest B&W
  • Twitter B&W

Connect With me

I love kitsch knick-knacks, making lovely things, reading and writing, kitty cuddles,  and a good cup of tea.

Tags

bottom of page